The Cagayan Valley Regional Development Council 2 held its reorganization last Friday, 27 September, during its 115th Regular Business Meeting at the Marco Paulo Hotel, Cauayan City, Isabela.

The Council members selected from among the Local Chief Executives (LCEs) and Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) nominees for whom the President shall choose and appoint the RDC Chairperson and Co-Chairperson. The Council nominated and endorsed Isabela Governor Rodolfo T. Albano III and Private Sector Representative (PSR) for Tourism Ms. Blessida G. Diwa.

The appointed nominees by the President shall assume as Chairman and Co-Chairman of the Council on the day their appointments are signed. As provided in the Implementing Rules and Regulations of EO 325, the Chairman shall be responsible in presiding over the meetings of the Council, the Executive and the Advisory Committees; call the attention of the implementing agencies and LGUs to implementation problems as identified and deliberated upon by the Council; supervise the monitoring of the implementation of major inter-provincial and region-wide development programs, projects and activities; direct the formulation of comprehensive regional plans and investment programming activities; and lead and supervise all activities of the Council, among others.

Meanwhile, the initial set of PSRs confirmed by the Council are: Mr. Protacio D. Laguinday and Rev. Ferdinand J. Valdez for the Agriculture and Fisheries Sector; Mr. Cloyd C. Velasco and Atty. Robin James A. Gunnacao for the Trade, Industry and Services; Engr. Gilbert E. Acdal for the Environment and Natural Resources; Engr. Bonifacio B. Carag for the Social Welfare and Marginalized Sector; Mr. Christian R. Guzman for the Health, Education, and Manpower Development; Ms. Blessida G. Diwa for the Tourism Sector; Mr. Napoleon P. Baltazar for Indigenous Peoples and Cultural Communities; and Atty. Melchor A. Battung for labor. The PSRs also took their oath of office before RDC Acting Chair and NEDA Regional Director Dionisio C. Ledres, Jr.

Thirteen Special Non-Voting Members (SNVMs) were also confirmed during the meeting, to wit: Cagayan Economic Zone Authority (CEZA), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), Department of Education (DepEd), Environmental Management Bureau (EMB), Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), National Irrigation Administration (NIA), Philippine Information Agency (PIA), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), and Civil Service Commission (CSC).
As mandated by Executive Order No. 325, SNVMs are an integral part of the RDCs to optimize representation and to ensure that development planning covers all sectors.#