The Regional Committee on Sustainable Development performs the following functions:

  1. Review and ensure the implementation of the Philippine Agenda 21 at the regional and local levels;
  2. Establish guidelines and mechanisms that will expand, concretize and operationalize the sustainable development principles and incorporate them in the preparation of the Regional development Plan and Physical Framework Plan;
  3. Formulate and recommend to the PCSD policy reforms and new legislation that respond to continuing and emerging issues with regional implications and chart future actions related to environment and sustainable development issues of regional interest.
  4. Institutionalize a mechanism that would ensure linkage among legislative and executive branches, local government units, non-government organizations, business and other concerned entities/sectors in the formulation of policies and decision making on sustainable   development concerns of the region;
  5. Review and monitor plans, policies, programs and legislation on sustainable development at the regional level and recommend mechanisms/strategies for promoting efficiency and timeliness of their execution;
  6. Deliberate and act on issues related to poverty, consumption patterns, population, human health, human settlements and decision making;
  7. Tackle and act on issues associated with physical dimensions of the environment which include the atmosphere, bio-diversity, water resources and land resources;
  8. Address the various needs as well as the roles of the stakeholders and key players in sustainable development who are the women, children and youth, indigenous people, NGOs, local government authorities, trade and labor unions, business and industry, scientists and technologists, farmers and fisher folks and the physically challenged;
  9. Establish linkages with and solicit assistance from international organizations and identify local and institutional arrangements and mechanisms to facilitate and fulfill the Philippine commitments to the UNCED in the region.
  10. Perform other functions as may be assigned by the RDC.


Chair: OIC-RD Dionisio C. Ledres Jr. – National Economic and Development Authority

Co-Chair: Dir. Gwendolyn C. Bambalan – DENR


  1. PLGU Cagayan
  2. PLGU Isabela
  3. PLGU N. Vizcaya
  4. PLGU Quirino
  5. PLGU Batanes
  6. DA
  7. DAR
  8. DBM
  9. DepEd
  10. DENR
  11. DILG
  12. DSWD
  13. DTI
  14. DOH
  15. DOLE
  16. DOST
  17. DOT
  18. DPWH
  19. EMB
  20. LTO
  21. NCIP
  22. NIA
  23. PIA
  24. PNP
  25. TESDA
  26. BFAR
  27. CHED
  28. AFP
  29. DHSUD
  30. MGB
  31. OCD
  32. POPCOM
  33. PSA
  34. PSR Teresita S. Acosta
  35. PSR Gilbert E. Acdal
  36. NVSU
  37. QSU
  38. ISU
  39. CSU
  40. BSC