The Cagayan Valley Regional Development Council (RDC2) approved the creation of a Special Regional Committee on the Sustainable Development Goals (SRC-SDGs) during the Council’s 117th Full Council Meeting via zoom on September 18, 2020.

The newly created SRC-SDGs will facilitate the implementation and attainment of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) at the regional level.  It will also support the Sub-Committee on the Sustainable Development Goals (SC-SDGs) created by the Development Budget Coordinating Committee (DBCC) under a Resolution dated December 11, 2019.  The SC-SDGs is responsible for ensuring better coordination of the implementation of the SDG programs in the Philippines towards attainment of the SDGs.

The SRC-SDGs will be chaired by the Regional Director of the National Economic and Development Authority 2 (NEDA2) with the Regional Director of the Department of Budget and Management 2 (DBM2) as Co-Chair.

In support of the SRC-SDGs, regional Technical Working Groups (TWGs) on four major sectors, namely, social, economic, environment, and peace, security and governance were also established.  Their specific roles and functions are to: (1) Coordinate the implementation of the SDGs through the monitoring of policies, programs, activities, or projects identified in the SDG Annex of the Socioeconomic Report; (2) Coordinate with government agencies to explore cross-sector programs for the SDGs in the region; (3) Prepare focus reviews and reports in relation to addressing policy, program, activities, project needs to meet the SDGs; and (4) Submit and present sectoral reports to the Special Regional Committee on the SDGs.

The RDC2 Sector Committees shall serve as TWGs, particularly the Social Development Committee (SDC) for social, Economic Development Committee (EDC) for economic, Regional Committee on Sustainable Development (RCSD) for environment, and Committee on Development Administration and Communication (CODAC) for peace, security and governance.  It was also agreed that other agencies who are not members of the sector committees that will serve as TWGs may be invited as needed. # Jun Irigayen, NEDA2-DRD