The Cagayan Valley Regional Development Council (RDC2) through the private sector organizations elected last August 19 the seven private sector representatives (PSRs) who will be part of the 25 percent or 14 member representation of the private sector in the RDC2 for the term 2022 to 2025. To complete the 14 PSR slots, two PSRs were earlier endorsed by the DOLE and NCIP and five geographic representatives will be endorsed by the provinces with one representative for each province.

Twenty-one private sectors participated in the said election through their nominees and designated voters. Before the election, NEDA2 discussed the roles and functions of the RDC and its committees along with the corresponding responsibilities of the PSRs.

All nominees were given the opportunity to introduce themselves and their organization to the voters. Of the 21 nominees, 7 were elected to represent the priority sectors in the Council.
The following are the newly elected PSRs and their sector assignments: (1) Atty. Robin James A. Gunnacao and (2) Protacio D. Laguinday for Agriculture and Fisheries Sector; (3) Gilbert L. Cumila for Trade, Industry and Services; (4) Engr. Gilbert E. Acdal for Environment and Natural Resources; (5) Napoleon P. Baltazar for Social Welfare and Marginalized Sector; (6) Christian R. Guzman for Health, Education, and Manpower Development; and (7) Cloyd C. Velasco for Tourism.

NEDA2 also finalized the committee assignments of the PSRs across the six RDC committees. Additionally, from the group of nominees, two non-RDC2 PSRs for the Regional Project Monitoring Committee were also identified, namely: Nestor Noel Q. Dayag and Severino M. Carub.

The newly elected PSRs took their oaths on August 24 during the 124th RDC2 Regular Business Meeting held at Crown Pavilion Hotel in Tuguegarao City. #