The Cagayan Valley Regional Development Council (RDC2) nominated Cagayan Governor Manuel N. Mamba and Private Sector Representatives Christian R. Guzman and Cloyd C. Velasco for the Council’s Chair position during its 124th Regular Business Meeting on August 24, 2022 held at Crown Pavilion Hotel in Tuguegarao City.

The three nominees will be endorsed to the President through the NEDA Secretary for the appointment of the Chair and Co-Chair positions.

The Council also took the opportunity to award plaques of recognition to the Committee Chairs and PSRs of the previous term (2019 to 2022). The new set of PSRs who were elected on August 19 also took their oaths before the Council.

The newly elected PSRs are: (1) Atty. Robin James A. Gunnacao and (2) Protacio D. Laguinday for the Agriculture and Fisheries Sector; (3) Gilbert L. Cumila for Trade, Industry and Services Sector; (4) Engr. Gilbert E. Acdal for Environment and Natural Resources Sector; (5) Napoleon P. Baltazar for Social Welfare and Marginalized Sector; (6) Christian R. Guzman for Health, Education, and Manpower Development Sector; and (7) Cloyd C. Velasco for Tourism Sector.

As representatives of the private sector, the PSRs are expected to participate in RDC2 activities, generate sectoral and geographical issues and concerns in the region, assist in mobilizing resources for RDC2 projects and engage in project monitoring and problem solving sessions.

The RDC is the highest policy-making body in the region. It is the primary institution that coordinates and sets the direction of all economic and social development efforts in the region. It also serves as a forum where local efforts can be related and integrated with national development initiatives.

It was created in 1972 through Presidential Decree No. 1 as the single regional planning body whose main concern is the overall socioeconomic development of the region.  It is composed of regional heads of line agencies, representatives of the private sector and non-government organizations, designated special non-voting members and local government officials, which include all provincial governors and city mayors, mayors of municipalities designated as provincial capitals, presidents of the provincial leagues of mayors in the region, and mayors of municipalities designated as regional center.

The major committees are the Executive Committee (ExCom), Advisory Committee (AdCom), and the four Sectoral Committees, namely, Social Development, Economic Development, Infrastructure Development and Development Administration.

The RDC Chair will sit as Chair in the ExCom and AdCom. The chairmanship of the four sectoral committees will be determined and decided among the local chief executives.

The term of Isabela Governor Rodolfo T. Albano III as the RDC2 Chair ended in June 30, 2022. NEDA Regional Director Dionisio C. Ledres, Jr. sits as Interim Chair, pending the appointment of the new RDC2 Chair. #